Carmarthenshire Museum

Copyright Caryl Thomas 2020 – The Cedar of Lebanon at Bishops Park, Abergwili

The Museum is closed until Spring 2021

Restoration works are being carried out at this museum to ensure its future for the enjoyment of residents and visitors. It will be closed to the public for up to 12 months for the works to be carried out safely and with minimal risk to visitors and collections.  Special events are planned, including ‘behind the scenes’ access to the Bishop’s Library.  The park is also being restored as part of the £2.34million Tywi Gateway Project and will remain open for visitors with events and activities throughout the year.

* * *

Visit Carmarthenshire County Museum to discover fascinating and curious art and antiquities from Carmarthenshire’s past. It’s the perfect place to soak up the history from a part of Wales steeped in heritage, myth and legend.

The museum is set in parkland in the glorious Tywi valley and was for centuries the palace of the Bishop of St Davids. Having been in continuous use since 1290, the site has become known as the home of the Welsh Renaissance and is linked to the foundation of modern Welsh language and prose. The current building is a rare example of Welsh Arts & Crafts architecture when a devastating fire presented an opportunity to rebuild the palace in 1904.

Set around a covered courtyard, our museum galleries take you on a journey through 50,000 years of human history. Discover bones of ice age animals, fossils, Roman gold, the legend of Merlin’s Oak, gravestones from the time of King Arthur, and folk art believed to have mystical powers. Enjoy displays of past lives, such as Elsa’s traditional Welsh cottage, the old palace kitchen, rural food production, and the exquisite and beautifully preserved palace chapel.

Comments are closed.